The Magnet…from A to Z.

Daily Prompt: A to Z. Create a short story, piece of memoir, or epic poem that is 26 sentences long, in which the first sentence begins with “A” and each sentence thereafter begins with the next letter of the alphabet.

An average day in my life includes unparalleled foolishness that often comes from the most unexpected sources. Because I have such vivid dreams, I often wonder, “Is this REALLY happening or am I still asleep?” Carelessly sometimes, I go out into the world thinking I’m a normal person…forgetting that I’m The Magnet! Don’t think I’m not reminded at every turn! Even my own wardrobe turns against me sometimes. Flip flops were the culprit a few weeks ago. Going to work, walking up a Hill, so happy-go-lucky, the right one decided to disassemble itself before I could make it to the office. “How in the WORLD can I walk into the office with just one shoe on?” I thought. I contemplated taking them both off and walking into the office completely barefoot.  Jesus advised against that during the little talk I had with him. Knowing that I had a full day’s work ahead of me, I couldn’t in good conscience turn around and go back home. Laughing to keep from crying, I returned to my car to devise another strategy. “Maybe I could call my boss and explain to her what happened,” I thought. Not wanting to make myself any later than I already was, I knew I had to make a decision quickly. Out of nowhere appeared a woman who was headed up the Hill to work herself. Pride vanished as I approached her in one shoe and asked if she had any glue, tape, or even a stapler to temporarily repair my other shoe. Quiet for a moment (no doubt taking the whole situation in), the woman responded saying she didn’t have anything to repair my shoe… but she did have an extra pair of shoes I could have! Returning to her car, she retrieved another pair of flip flops that she’d recently purchased. She offered them to me with a warm, sincere smile. Thanking her, I reached into my purse to scrape together any cash or change I had to offer as payment. Unwilling to accept any form of repayment, she said, “I’m just glad I could be a blessing to somebody today.” Very emotional over the situation, I put on the new flip flops I had just been gifted and headed up the Hill. Work proved challenging that day, as I was obviously distracted and overwhelmed by what happened earlier that morning. Xerulated* to “pay it forward”, I vowed to always have an extra pair of shoes in my car. You never know when you (or someone else) might need them! Zealous and grateful, I will always strive to turn my life’s foolishness into something positive!

*There is a slight possibility that “xerulated” isn’t a real word. I was on a roll and didn’t want to scrap this entire piece because I couldn’t find an appropriate word that starts with “X”. So let’s pretend that xerulated means “determined, committed, or motivated”.  All other aspects of the story, however, are 100% real. Peep the pics.

“Like” me on Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/magnetforfoolishness

Follow me on Twitter: https://twitter.com/#!/foolishmagnet

About Magnet for Foolishness

Resident of the DMV…and my incessant thoughts. Always hungry. Comedy craver. Ice cream freak. Reality TV show junkie. Slightly opinionated. Rarely wrong. Part Lisa Simpson. Part Sue Sylvester. Part Meredith Grey. Renowned chef and baker…avid gardener…pet lover…sometimes liar. Effortlessly forgetful. Always hungry. Blindly hopeful. Easily embarrassed (NOT). Eerily observant. Searching for something. Disregarding parallelism. Chronically tardy. Ruthlessly impatient. Surprisingly affectionate. Unnecessarily long-winded.
This entry was posted in humor, Life, Personal, random, stories, thoughts, Uncategorized, writing and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to The Magnet…from A to Z.

  1. rp1496 says:

    That is serious challenge! Great job on completing the post. Kudos for possibly reading and completing more than one book this summer.

    Like

    • Thanks, RP. I officially finished book #2 yesterday. And I decided to change my list a little based on our conversation about what qualifies as a good “summer read” versus a “winter read”.

      And this flip flop incident happened a few days before the infamous bathroom incident…so that particular week was PLENTY eventful!

      Like

  2. Shonnerz says:

    Great job on the post!!
    Also, I’m glad you listened to Jesus and didn’t try to go to work barefoot. 🙂

    Like

  3. Pingback: Daily Prompt – A to Z – Poem / Poetry – “Acrostalyptica” | toofulltowrite (I've started so I'll finish)

  4. Pingback: Mini Blog: Blog Love | I Am Your People

  5. hermitsdoor says:

    Zowza, You eXasperate Way-out, Verifiable Utterances To Stupify Reality. Questionable Positions, Oh No! My Left Knee, Jerked In, Hurts, Going Flip-flops Entirely Deranged Causing Backward Approach.
    Oscar (you really didn’t want a 26 sentence reply, did you?) 🙂

    Like

  6. Pingback: Orderly William Butler Yeats | Ireland, Multiple Sclerosis & Me

I want to hear from you!

