This is my life right now. Though I’d never admit to it in writing.

“NO EATING AFTER 8 PM!”

Picture via retroist.com/Google images

About a week ago, I instituted this rule for everyone living in my house. (Please note: I am the only one who lives in my house.) I think not eating after 6 or 7 is a more common practice, but some days I don’t get home until after 7 or I may not even leave work until then. So I thought if I wanted to lose some weight, I should not eat after 8. The day after I made this rule, I completely forgot about it. So I’m reaching in the freezer for my frozen Reese’s Peanut Butter Cups and I happen to glance over at the clock on the stove. It said 7:56. At that very moment, I remembered that I instituted this rule. So I spent 2 of the last 3 minutes trying to decide if I thought I could (not should, but could) eat all 4 of the peanut butter cups in the package. Then I thought that if I ate them that fast, I’d pretty much be inhaling them and not really tasting them (in which case, what’s the point?) So in the remaining minute that led up to 8 pm (house rules are that everything had to be swallowed and my mouth had to be completely empty by 8 pm),  I decided to start eating just to see how far I could get. I spent so much time thinking about whether or not I could eat all 4, I only had enough time left to get through 2. So I had the other 2 for breakfast the next morning.

Can you say, “Iyanla, fix my life”??!  :/

I’m not the only one who does this kinda thing, right? I mean, you guys have some stuff that you’d never admit in writing, right? Share with me in the comments. I won’t tell anybody…

About Magnet for Foolishness

Resident of the DMV…and my incessant thoughts. Always hungry. Comedy craver. Ice cream freak. Reality TV show junkie. Slightly opinionated. Rarely wrong. Part Lisa Simpson. Part Sue Sylvester. Part Meredith Grey. Renowned chef and baker…avid gardener…pet lover…sometimes liar. Effortlessly forgetful. Always hungry. Blindly hopeful. Easily embarrassed (NOT). Eerily observant. Searching for something. Disregarding parallelism. Chronically tardy. Ruthlessly impatient. Surprisingly affectionate. Unnecessarily long-winded.
This entry was posted in Chocolate, Comedy, Funny, humor, Life, Life plans, Personal, random, thoughts, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to This is my life right now. Though I’d never admit to it in writing.

  1. I’ve “silently” made this a rule in my house and I’ve “silently” broken it over and over. Ha!

    Like

  2. That one got me laughing. Being put in a tight corner by our own rules. No wonder some people say, rules are made to be broken. We’ve got to be careful when we have Children learning, we are an example and should mean what we say. I wrote about children in my response to the weekly writing challenge. You can check it out. http://teeceecounsel.wordpress.com/2012/10/22/children/

    Like

  3. While I have made that rule, I have never followed it, especially love frozen Reeses peanut butter cups. They are my favorite. I find it easier to exercise than eat right.

    Like

    • I, too, find it easier to exercise than to eat right. I wish I wasn’t wired that way, though. The whole time I’m eating something (or large amounts of something) that I shouldn’t be eating, I’m thinking, “Jillian Michaels will help me burn this off later…”

      Like

  4. I just went to the farmers market, so that I can finally use this juicer that i paid $100 for a month ago to start CLEAN EATING! *eats a whole bag of Tootsie roll pops since I had no trick-or-treaters*

    Like

I want to hear from you!

