There’s a Stranger in My House…

Yesterday at lunch, I was having a conversation with some friends about singer Tamia and her basketball player husband, Grant Hill. We were talking about the longevity of basketball careers. (Hill, though injured a lot, has been around for YEARS.) We also discussed at length the reasons why Tamia never really made it BIG-big like all of us thought she should have and like many of her peers did. A conversation I’d been a part of many times before in many different circles. We recalled all of our favorite Tamia songs, mine being “Stranger in My House”.

The chorus replayed in my head:

There’s a stranger in my house…

Took a while to figure out…

There’s no way you could be who you say you are,

You gotta be someone else…

Those very words drummed up a lot of memories…a lot of interesting stories. I’ll be back next week, but in the meanwhile, check out one of those stories –>HERE.

Feel free to leave your comments here or there.

Until next time…

“Like” me on Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/magnetforfoolishness

Follow me on Twitter: https://twitter.com/#!/foolishmagnet

About Magnet for Foolishness

Resident of the DMV…and my incessant thoughts. Always hungry. Comedy craver. Ice cream freak. Reality TV show junkie. Slightly opinionated. Rarely wrong. Part Lisa Simpson. Part Sue Sylvester. Part Meredith Grey. Renowned chef and baker…avid gardener…pet lover…sometimes liar. Effortlessly forgetful. Always hungry. Blindly hopeful. Easily embarrassed (NOT). Eerily observant. Searching for something. Disregarding parallelism. Chronically tardy. Ruthlessly impatient. Surprisingly affectionate. Unnecessarily long-winded.
This entry was posted in Comedy, culture, friendship, Funny, Guest Post, humor, Life, music, Personal, random, Relationships, stories, thoughts, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to There’s a Stranger in My House…

  1. Jania says:

    Interesting how the song, “stranger in my house,” could ignite the topic of roommates–it’s a stretch, but once I began reading the post, I was hooked. The post was both hilarious and even more hilarious. I think I loved reading your internal thoughts about “what to do” i.e. call your father etc. most of all. If you’re anything like me…that entire process probably took 5-10 minutes (maybe even shorter), but many may think it took a lot longer.

    Like

    • Yeah, I ultimately had to make a judgment call NOT to call him on this one since I’d recently called him about so many other things. But that always seems like the most rational thing to do. I did send him a link to the post which he LOVED. And you’re right, the whole thought process from start to finish probably didn’t span much longer than 10 minutes…but when you’re IN the moment and your adrenaline is pumping and thoughts are racing, it feels like a lifetime!

      Oh, and also (not sure if this didn’t come across clearly in the post or if maybe I’m misreading your comment) the stranger in my house had nothing to do with a roommate and everything to do with that “roach”.

      Like

I want to hear from you!

