What gets put on a to-do list…gets put on a to-do list.

I don’t know about you, but one sure-fire way to guarantee that I WON’T do something is to put that something on a to-do list. I have “running” to-do lists all over the place. And those to-do lists literally feel like they’re running away from me! I’ve told myself that if the stuff sits on the list undone long enough, it will become less important. Or better yet, if it’s on the list for an extended period of time it clearly wasn’t really that important in the first place. It’s amazing how NOT important something turns out to be. Or, no, wait…that sounds kinda mean.  So, what I meant to say was that I think stuff is totally important, it’s just that their relevance, prominence, and dominance in my life is slightly diminished by my inability to care. Was that nicer? Like for example….

  • Mailing these postcards.—————–>

    Please ignore the D.C. postmark...

    If you recall, I went on vacation to the Dominican Republic last Fall. While looking for some jewelry I’d misplaced, I came across these postcards in my suitcase. I guess I was supposed to mail these while I was still in the DR, right? My apologies Unc, Mama, BFF, and anybody else I promised to mail postcards to. I’m pretty sure you weren’t holding your breath for these, but I’ll try to get them in the mail to you next week. 

  • Reading blog posts. As I’m typing this, I have 41, 43, 44 unread blog posts (and still growing) sitting in my inbox.  I don’t know if I should start with the most recent and work my way back, or the oldest and work my way forward. Or delete them all and start anew next week. Thing is, they NEVER stop. And they’re not spam because I signed up for them and enjoy reading and commenting on them. I fell behind ONE day and it just snowballed out of control. *sigh* 
  • Getting my oil changed.  So remember I told y’all here about the hard lessons learned/the difference between owning a Civic and owning an Accord? Well, I’m hoping that the rules that apply for getting gas in a timely fashion DON’T apply for getting your oil changed in a timely fashion because I’m slightly over what the recommended mileage is. And by slightly, I mean about a thousand miles.   
  • Filling out my brackets for March Madness. Can I still do this? Cuz I really want to…My vote is for Tennessee girls and Memphis guys to go all the way!
  • Doing my taxes. Not a lot to say about this one. It has been on my list since January. And the time has come. This is one list item that refuses to be ignored!

What things are (chronically) on your to-do list? Have you done your taxes yet? Wanna do mine?! Share with me in the comments section.

P.S. I’m sure by now you’ve come to the conclusion that this post was my attempt at a clever Part 2 for my last post. I had to break it up…I couldn’t put all that foolishness in one place.

About Magnet for Foolishness

Resident of the DMV…and my incessant thoughts. Always hungry. Comedy craver. Ice cream freak. Reality TV show junkie. Slightly opinionated. Rarely wrong. Part Lisa Simpson. Part Sue Sylvester. Part Meredith Grey. Renowned chef and baker…avid gardener…pet lover…sometimes liar. Effortlessly forgetful. Always hungry. Blindly hopeful. Easily embarrassed (NOT). Eerily observant. Searching for something. Disregarding parallelism. Chronically tardy. Ruthlessly impatient. Surprisingly affectionate. Unnecessarily long-winded.
This entry was posted in Comedy, culture, Funny, humor, Life, Life plans, Personal, random, thoughts, traveling, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to What gets put on a to-do list…gets put on a to-do list.

  1. RP14_96 says:

    Well I went another 1000 miles over my oil change! So I was 2000 miles over, and that is typical.

    other than oil changes, I tend to get my list done eventually. It is just not always on the day that I designated in mind.

    Forgive me if this comment makes no sense. I’m allegra loopy right now!

    Like

  2. 1heartle says:

    I usually let the oil change go for a while. In the past, I always tried to do it before I hit 1,000 miles overdue. But the weekends have been so busy that I haven’t had time to go. Last night I glanced down at the odometer just as it clicked in to 1,800 miles overdue. We’re headed out on a road trip, so it will get worse before it gets better.

    Taxes? Done, thanks to FAFSA. But now I have to log in an update FAFSA. . . . .
    Paint the house
    Replace the front door
    Clean the garage
    Plant zucchini
    Plant tomatoes
    Prune the fruit trees
    Take a vacation (check!)

    That’s just around the house. I’m on vacation now, so I don’t want to think about that list. My answer to this whole mess is GTD, but I still have the same resistance to my todo list.

    Like

  3. brennagrimes says:

    Ugh…applying for full time jobs & laundry. The two things that will NEVER get off my to-do list. Oh wait, I forgot about dishes. We don’t have a dishwasher…but I tend to just ignore them and let them mingle with my roommate’s. I swear, I’m too old for this junk.

    Like

  4. yup. dishes. laundry. vicious cycle.

    Like

  5. My to-do list:

    1) Write a blog
    2) Do my homework
    3) Stop tweeting so friggin much

    In other words, I’m failing at life

    Like

  6. Najeema says:

    I had to put responding to this blog post on my to-do list, especially since I had one and it got erased. But I think this was an excellent post.
    I crossed off one thing before I even got to work today, and I’m pretty happy about that. Now, just about 3 more to go before I can feel like I’m actually making headway.
    I’m ecstatic that I actually applied for AND received my FSA money. Taxes are next. Good luck!

    Like

    • Okay, so I did my taxes the other night while watching some reality TV show foolishness (either ATL housewives or BBall wives). I finished them, but was very distracted so I need to go back and double-check myself with the TV OFF!

      Like

  7. hermitsdoor says:

    As you may guess from my blogs, I’m sort of on the compulsive side… sort of. The other day we were looking for keys to a relative’s house. Linda thought they were in the glove box of one of the cars. I found dozens of out-of-date to-do and grocery lists, along with 3 dead flash lights, all good for disposal. Post cards? I used to write names/addresses on labels to put on post cards. When all the labels were gone, my social obligations were done. Now I post Brown Sign blogs. Reading blogs? I once checked the “Notify me of follow up comments via email” to a comment that I left on a FP’d blog. I did not get a reply but our email was full for 3 days with a world of unknown responders. Linda banded me from doing that again (and we opened a new e-mail for personal stuff, leaving the old e-mail for blog responses). Oil changes? We use Trip A for the gas tank milage, and Trip B for oil change milage. Oops. The Subaru is over due. March Madness brackets? Let’s just say I did not pick a loser. Taxes? Fortunately we had a rainy day back in February, so TurboTax has gotten my loan to the Federal government back in my bank account. To-do list checked off!
    Oscar

    Like

    • Good for you!

      I hope to finish my taxes today…if I can get off WordPress, Twitter, and Facebook. Oh, and BlogHer. For even just a few minutes because I’m mostly done.

      I’ve had people tell me that they accidentally checked the send me follow-up comments box and did realize it until they logged into their e-mail and had a HUGE, confusing surprise!

      And what is a “Brown Sign” blog? I’ll have to google that one…

      Like

      • hermitsdoor says:

        Brown signs are those brown signs along the highway. I thought that I had an original idea for travel blogs, you know, all those Brown Sign spots, like the Duck Decoy Museum along the BWI Parkway on the way to the airport… but, then I found that in Britain, touring is referred to at Brown Signing.

        Like

I want to hear from you!

