One word…Whitney.

I will always remember where I was and what I was doing when I heard the news. I was minding my business. Baking a cake. Hadn’t checked Facebook or Twitter all day. Trying to ignore my BlackBerry text notifications. But they refused to be ignored. Text after text, they kept on coming. “Whitney Houston dead at 48”… “Turn to CNN”… “OMG! What’s going on??”

Days after the announcement of her passing, I finally got my thoughts together and sat down to compose a heartfelt tribute to her.  I typed and typed. And typed…and typed some more. Recalling all of her songs that made my childhood and teenage years so memorable. But something didn’t feel right. So I scrapped it.

I read this post and this one which reenergized me, and I decided to try writing my post again. Then I tried to compose a Friday Drabble to package my thoughts into something palatable. But this woman and her greatness require and deserve so much more than 100 words.

So rather than writing about it, I thought the best way to comfort myself during this difficult time is to simply listen to her music. Her one-of-a-kind, often imitated, NEVER duplicated voice. All the songs where she sings about love. Loving her family, loving her friends, loving LIFE.

Here are my two favorites:

You were amazing. We are devastated. You will be missed.

Thank you, Whitney, for the memories.


About Magnet for Foolishness

Resident of the DMV…and my incessant thoughts. Always hungry. Comedy craver. Ice cream freak. Reality TV show junkie. Slightly opinionated. Rarely wrong. Part Lisa Simpson. Part Sue Sylvester. Part Meredith Grey. Renowned chef and baker…avid gardener…pet lover…sometimes liar. Effortlessly forgetful. Always hungry. Blindly hopeful. Easily embarrassed (NOT). Eerily observant. Searching for something. Disregarding parallelism. Chronically tardy. Ruthlessly impatient. Surprisingly affectionate. Unnecessarily long-winded.
This entry was posted in culture, friendship, Life, Personal, pop culture, random, Relationships, television, thoughts, Uncategorized, writing and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to One word…Whitney.

  1. RP1496 says:

    Very appropriate post! I too am listening to her music, and finally realized yesterday that I wasn’t doing it with sadness. I realized that her legacy, like so many before her will live on!!

    Now I have to start working on my legacy!!

    Like

  2. AH! Thanks for the shoutout! I can’t get enough, and I’m enjoying the videos you shared.

    Great post .

    Like

  3. stevebetz says:

    Good post. We were talking about how in a pre-internet, pre-iPod world, you heard Whitney Houston on the radio all the time. Like, on every station. I don’t think anyone’s been that big since and I’m not sure in this era, someone could.

    Like

    • Yes, she was everywhere and she was awesome. Her songs are classics and since radio stations have been playing them substantially more since we lost her, I hope they will continue to keep her songs in heavy rotation. These young folk need to know what REAL music is!

      Like

  4. Cheekie says:

    Great post. I’ve been spending time listening to her music as well. The music stations have done a great job with playing her catalogue. And I’m looking forward to rewatching her movies.

    Like

  5. ceezpaul says:

    Very fitting indeed a recognition for a wonderful woman with whose music
    many of us have grown. May her soul rest in peace.
    Her troubles are over and her life’s legacy lives on.
    R.I.P Whitney!

    Like

  6. One word…Whitney.

    One word..YAAAAASSSS!

    Like

  7. hermitsdoor says:

    What I find sad is how often those who strive for the spot light end up being destroyed by it. Their successes are as ephemeral as as the fading applause and cheers at the end of a concert.
    Oscar

    Like

  8. travelingmad says:

    I was also saddened by Whitney’s death. Another star lost too soon to drugs and alcohol.
    I think my favorite love song of hers was “Didn’t We Almost Have it All.”

    Like

  9. Pingback: My Top 11 Favoritest Non-Rap Songs of All Time |

I want to hear from you!

