Friday Drabble: What’s for Dinner?

drabble is a very short story of exactly 100 words. Feel free to join in and write your own drabbles on Fridays and tag them with “friday drabble” and on Twitter with the hashtag #fridaydrabble.

I was exhausted. Work took everything out of me and I barely had enough energy to drive home.

But as tired as I was, I decided that I couldn’t go to bed with no dinner. I walked around the kitchen trying to decide what to eat. Meatloaf? No, it needed to be thawed. Spaghetti? Had the sauce, but not enough patience to wait for the noodles to boil. Tuna? Good choice, but my can opener was broken. Yogurt? Nope. I’d still be hungry afterward.

Then it became crystal clear to me what the obvious choice was all along: CEREAL.

About Magnet for Foolishness

Resident of the DMV…and my incessant thoughts. Always hungry. Comedy craver. Ice cream freak. Reality TV show junkie. Slightly opinionated. Rarely wrong. Part Lisa Simpson. Part Sue Sylvester. Part Meredith Grey. Renowned chef and baker…avid gardener…pet lover…sometimes liar. Effortlessly forgetful. Always hungry. Blindly hopeful. Easily embarrassed (NOT). Eerily observant. Searching for something. Disregarding parallelism. Chronically tardy. Ruthlessly impatient. Surprisingly affectionate. Unnecessarily long-winded.
This entry was posted in Comedy, Funny, humor, Life, Personal, random, thoughts, Uncategorized, writing and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Friday Drabble: What’s for Dinner?

  1. What happened to the “love is” drabble? I was looking forward to that!

    Like

  2. Just ate oatmeal for dinner. I have no excuse to be this lazy on a Sunday…

    Like

  3. Great story and one that everyone can relate to! I always have popcorn on the ready for those nights…

    Like

  4. stevebetz says:

    Cereal is always a valid choice!!!

    Like

  5. ceezpaul says:

    Hey, I love the idea of Friday Drabble, I hope I remember this time around.
    Simple story, but still very real.
    Keep sharing. Sometimes I have my lazy days too, and with this cold outside, I am
    not too pressed to move around, unless I really have to. 🙂
    Be blessed.

    Like

  6. Hermit says:

    Living 60 miles from our workplace, the crockpot on our day off is our primary left-over maker. The return journey home, especially in the dark of winter, ends around 8 p.m. with 10 p.m. lights out time. So, the question each evening is which plastic container to heat up while doing evening chores? Chops? Pasta? Mexican? Indian? Irish stew? We make salads ahead of time for quick placement on the table, while the microwave hums. Thus, with the dogs fed, lunches assembled for tomorrow, and the fire glowing, we sit down to sort the mail and eat another supper.

    Ha! I wrote something in 100 words. How’s that for drabble (I cheated a little by counting “p.m.” as one word, rather than “post meridian” two words). Oscar

    Like

  7. Pingback: Guest Post: The Top One Reason Why Living By Yourself Sux Sometimes « cilnblog

I want to hear from you!

