Happy Birthablogiversary!

Happy Birthday? Or Anniversary?

This is the official one year birthablogiversary of Magnet for Foolishness!  

It’s hard to believe that I started this blog November 21, 2010. It seems like just yesterday I was telling you guys about my adventures buying a book, being set on fire (but not really), and making tough life decisions. Almost a thousand comments later, I’ve e-met tons of other cool people, bloggers and non-bloggers, that I otherwise may have never e-met. I was “Freshly Pressed” on WordPress for this post and overnight became an international heroine for introverts! I was also nominated by a jury of my peers for The Versatile Blogger Award (I haven’t forgotten about you or you). THANKS TO YOU, it’s been a good year!

I thought we could celebrate the one year birthablogiversary (I promise this is the last time I’ll use this “word”) by reminiscing about some of my and your favorite posts. Choosing my favorites out of all the posts I’ve written is kinda like a parent choosing a favorite child, and then telling everybody their choice. It seems unnatural. It seems inappropriate. It seems wrong. But when have I ever cared about any of that? So I did it anyway and it actually wasn’t as difficult as I thought it would be.

Out of the 40+ posts I’ve written, here are my favorites in no particular order:

  • I am practicing abstinence. I’ve got two words for you: SEX. SELLS. I never doubted this for a minute, but then I saw my reads go up…way up (no pun intended) when I published this post.  And then my reads spiked again in 20 Questions when I mentioned a then-pregnant Mariah Carey being nude on the cover of a magazine. And then again with “…i will make your toes curl in pleasure…” I seriously considered naming every post from then on out something sexual. But I thought it might be bad blog karma to try to trick people into reading my blog.
  • Make those participles dangle, girl!! While I didn’t particularly enjoy the experiences I recapped in this post, I enjoyed writing the post, and especially naming it! The title sounds dirty, but it’s not…it reminds me of a rap song!

So what’s next for Magnet for Foolishness you ask? More blog posts here? Guest posts other places? A spin-off blog? A book? Retirement?–>(Just kidding. Maybe.) Who knows…you’ll just have to stay tuned to see!

Now, it’s your turn. What are your favorite posts from Magnet for Foolishness and why? Share your favorites in the comments section.

About Magnet for Foolishness

Resident of the DMV…and my incessant thoughts. Always hungry. Comedy craver. Ice cream freak. Reality TV show junkie. Slightly opinionated. Rarely wrong. Part Lisa Simpson. Part Sue Sylvester. Part Meredith Grey. Renowned chef and baker…avid gardener…pet lover…sometimes liar. Effortlessly forgetful. Always hungry. Blindly hopeful. Easily embarrassed (NOT). Eerily observant. Searching for something. Disregarding parallelism. Chronically tardy. Ruthlessly impatient. Surprisingly affectionate. Unnecessarily long-winded.
This entry was posted in Comedy, Funny, humor, Life, Personal, random, thoughts, Uncategorized, wordpress, writing and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to Happy Birthablogiversary!

  1. RP14 says:

    Congratulations on your one year blogiversary!!!!

    Like

  2. stevebetz says:

    Congratulations on your blogiversary! I’m glad to have found you this year!

    Like

  3. Congratulations! I’m nominating for the Liebster Award. Check out my blog in the next couple of days to get the details. So you have more than one reason to yip it up!

    Like

  4. @Lorna – Happy Thanksgiving to you, too! I’m headed to your blog now…

    Like

  5. *throws confetti and hires strippers* Happy blog birthday!

    Like

  6. R says:

    Give Cracked.com a crack? I think you could, if interested, be real good at it. 🙂

    http://www.cracked.com/article_19574_are-you-secretly-great-writer-like-money-read-this..html/?utm_medium=fanpage&utm_campaign=new+article&wa_ibsrc=fanpage

    Like

  7. Cardell J says:

    Happy Birthablogiversary!!!! I LOVE reading your blog and something I look forward to each week!

    Like

  8. jakesprinter says:

    Congratulations may you have a more,more blogs to come 🙂

    Like

  9. Congrats to u on ur bloganniversary! Look forward to reading more even though this is the first post am reading from you!

    Like

  10. Pingback: I’m sitting here with a mouthful of butter | Magnet for Foolishness®

I want to hear from you!

