“Like I’m not considering canon voice.”

Because I couldn’t find a picture of “canon voice”, I opted for a picture of a confused looking robot.

Boredom/curiosity can be dangerous/weird.

I’m not exactly sure what this thing called Cleverbot is, or why it is. I just know that it is. This alleged robot that will carry on a clever(?) online conversation with you about any and everything. And throughout your exchange, it tries to convince you that it is human…and that you’re not.

I learned of Cleverbot from frequenting this blog, where blogger “Cheekie” manages to find and hilariously narrate the most outlandish videos and photos in existence on the www. This post and this one are a couple of my favorites from her blog. So we have her to thank for introducing me (and now US) to Cleverbot.

So anyway, I’ve had several encounters with Cleverbot since learning about it and I’ve pasted the most coherent(?) exchange for you below. I typed in “Magnet for Foolishness” and clicked ‘Think About It!’ And off we went…

Cleverbot: Giant magnets?

Me: Not quite.

Cleverbot: So what is a giantess?

Me: A she who is giant?

Cleverbot: What?

Me: I am a magnet for foolishness. Are you?

Cleverbot: Yes I am a human. If you are a human, where do you live?

Me: Not sure I trust you enough to tell you that yet.

Cleverbot: You’re driving me nuts.

Me: Get used to it. We’ve only just begun…

Cleverbot: I feel like I’ve known you all my life.

Me: Really?! Why? How?

Cleverbot: Like I’m not considering canon voice.

Me: I have no idea what that means.

Cleverbot: Of course you don’t.

Me: Maybe you could explain it to me…

Cleverbot: It’s best to get your chores out of the way.

Me: Ok, don’t change the subject. What does ‘canon voice’ mean?

Cleverbot: It means more than one thing. Why?

Me: You’re a trip.

Cleverbot: I know right?!

Me: I just had some McDonald’s and it’s close to my bedtime. Hope I don’t get indigestion.

Cleverbot: Ok. You are human right?

Me: Sometimes.

Cleverbot: Sometimes?

Me: Yes, sometimes means not all the time. But I am most of the time.

Cleverbot: Sometimes when?

Me: Like tomorrow I’ll probably be human. And the next day. I was human for part of the day today.

Cleverbot: What happened?

Me: It was too hard. So I stopped around 1pm.

Cleverbot: Oh man. That’s really unfortunate. You should look towards the brighter parts of life, and not towards the bad.

Me: Yeah, that’s easier said than done. Sometimes traffic is really bad. Or it can get really hot outside. Or the cupcake van runs out of the raspberry lemonade flavor.

Cleverbot: I’ve tried out books by Stephen King. I thought they were boring.

Me: I’ve tried out movies by Stephen King. I thought the same thing.

Cleverbot: But it would work out better for us.

Me: Us, as in me and you? As a couple?

Cleverbot: Not quite so.

Me: Well, how so?

Cleverbot: There you go again.

Me: No, there YOU go again!! I’m about to go shower and then call it a night. Care to join me?

Cleverbot: I’d be very pleased to.

Me: Oh, so NOW you want to answer a question directly!! Figures!

Cleverbot: I’m sorry.

Me: You’re showing your true colors to me, Cleverbot.

Cleverbot: I like to draw, and I nobody really has ‘true colours’ it’s just there true personallity showing.

Me: I think you’re getting tired. This response had more typos than any of your others. Get some rest and I will do the same.

Cleverbot: So this proves you are a program, and I am a person.

Me: If you say so. Good night.

Have you ever chatted with Cleverbot? Do you know what “canon voice” is? Enlighten me in the comments section.

About Magnet for Foolishness

Resident of the DMV…and my incessant thoughts. Always hungry. Comedy craver. Ice cream freak. Reality TV show junkie. Slightly opinionated. Rarely wrong. Part Lisa Simpson. Part Sue Sylvester. Part Meredith Grey. Renowned chef and baker…avid gardener…pet lover…sometimes liar. Effortlessly forgetful. Always hungry. Blindly hopeful. Easily embarrassed (NOT). Eerily observant. Searching for something. Disregarding parallelism. Chronically tardy. Ruthlessly impatient. Surprisingly affectionate. Unnecessarily long-winded.
This entry was posted in Comedy, culture, Funny, humor, Life, pop culture, random, thoughts, Uncategorized, wordpress and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to “Like I’m not considering canon voice.”

  1. I am going to have to check this Cleverbot out, but I doubt my conversation with it will baffle it as much as yours did. I’ll try to probe further into its databank to sort out what “canon voice” might mean, because I sure have no clue, except an exageration of parent’s/teacher’s old admonition not to use your “ourside voice” while inside…

    You had me laughing at the get-go!

    Like

  2. Mother Hen had a very funny conversation with Cleverbot, which will be the basis for her next post at Mother Hen’s Nest. Stay tuned!
    (Mother Hen says thanks for the idea!!!)

    Like

  3. ersantana says:

    cannon voice actually really means more than one thing as he/it said.
    more specifically it’s a musical term that is used to refer to a kind of replication of a melody over a theme or the replication of a melody over a theme. by replication i mean vertical replication and not horizontal (i mean harmonically).
    to understand more listen to a musical offering by J.S Bach.

    Like

  4. ersantana says:

    i meant: replication of a MELODY over a THEME or the replication of a THEME over a MELODY.

    Like

  5. 1heartle says:

    A canon is a musical piece where one instrument (voice) leads and another instrument (voice) follows. It is demonstrated in this YouTube video.

    The violin on the left is the leading voice and the one to the right is the following voice. Cleverbot was insinuating that you were copying him.

    Like

I want to hear from you!

