Sonya’s Favorite Things – Part 2

I know you’ve been anxiously awaiting this since Sonya’s Favorite Things – Part 1 and you probably thought I forgot. But I didn’t. Here is the rest of the list to round out my top 20…

12) Commercials. I like commercials in general, but here are a few of my favorites: (stuff I have done) Laughing Cow “Crazy Day” & Bounce dryer bar; (stuff I haven’t done, but seems like something I would do) Cheetos commercial &  Skittles commercial; (other stuff that gives me a chuckle) Old Spice “The man your man could smell like”Oreo cookies (even though I hate Oreos because they taste like burntness), and Head & Shoulders.

13) Dimples. Look at the pictures. No additional explanation needed. 

14) Saxophones. Want instant sexiness? Add saxophones to any situation you’re in. As I type this, I’m sitting in Panera Bread and there is a dude at the table next to mine who sneezed like 4 times in a row and didn’t cover his mouth. And a dude at the table behind me who is sucking the fool out of a smoothie that he finished 5 minutes ago but seems to think there is still some left. But it’s ok. Because Panera is playing jazz right now. And those saxophones are just plain sexy. So I’m slightly less annoyed. (BTW, I know Lisa Simpson doesn’t exactly equal “sexiness” but she’s my girl. And she plays the saxophone.)

15) Being courted. So everybody has their own definition and standards for exactly what courting is, what an acceptable act of courtship is, etc. Personally, I get tickled pink when you send me a text asking how my day is going or if I had lunch yet. And then I say, “Yes, I just ate.” And you say, “Was it good?” And I say, “YES! ;)” And you say, “What did you have?” And I say “a shrimp Caesar salad.” And you say “Did they take the tails off the shrimp? I know how you hate when they leave the tails on.” I know you couldn’t care less about my shrimp Caesar salad, but you get MAD points just for acting like you do…

16) People who DON’T pop gum or pen caps. Nothing good in life is going to come to you if you’re a popper. NOTHING. I promise you. You can be my BFF and I could be just about to donate a kidney to you. But pop something in my ear if you want to…I’m taking my kidney back.

17) Relaxers. I love relaxers. I love them so much, in fact, I almost dedicated an entire post to them. And I still might. Shout out to the big homie Willow Smith for the whole “Whip My Hair” craze last year. Even though she’s like 3 years old, there was a time when she had EVERYBODY singing and dancing to this song. But I digress…the point is, I like relaxers and I “whip my hair” with one every chance I get. Because I like being able to comb my hair. And if I didn’t get a relaxer…I wouldn’t be able to comb my hair. Actually, as soon as I finish this post, I think I might go get a relaxer…

18) Girl crushes. Or should I say, the fact that it’s perfectly acceptable to have a girl crush. Or several. Yes, it’s a fact. And here are my top girl crushes: Janet Jackson (goddess, entertainer, rock star, legend); Tina Fey (writer, actress, one of the funniest women in the comedy game right now); Bethenny Frankel and Kandi Burruss (my reality TV show BFFs); and Michelle Obama (first lady extraordinaire). Honorable mentions include Salma Hayek, Chelsea Handler, and Rihanna (don’t judge me).

19) Commas. You know it’s funny, but this is something that really annoys me in other people’s writing, and I call them out on it all the time, but when I look back through my own stuff, I actually use a lot of commas, too, because they seem necessary to getting my point across effectively, because I want people to be able to understand what I’m saying, you know, when I write, as if I’m actually talking to them.

20) Blogs. I’m so late on everything. I figured out what Facebook was a year after everybody else was already tired of it. And late last year, I discovered what a web log better known as a “blog” is. And shortly thereafter, I decided to start one of my own. I think the first blog I ever subscribed to was this one. I still read it daily. I recently subscribed to this one, which has mouth-watering recipes with tantalizing pictures. I also support my friends’ blogs and appreciate the regular commenters on my blog who have been with me since the beginning. Yes. I realize that was a lot of hyperlinks in one sentence.

So there you have it….my top 20 favorite things! What are some of your favorite things? Share them with me in the comments section.

About Magnet for Foolishness

Resident of the DMV…and my incessant thoughts. Always hungry. Comedy craver. Ice cream freak. Reality TV show junkie. Slightly opinionated. Rarely wrong. Part Lisa Simpson. Part Sue Sylvester. Part Meredith Grey. Renowned chef and baker…avid gardener…pet lover…sometimes liar. Effortlessly forgetful. Always hungry. Blindly hopeful. Easily embarrassed (NOT). Eerily observant. Searching for something. Disregarding parallelism. Chronically tardy. Ruthlessly impatient. Surprisingly affectionate. Unnecessarily long-winded.
This entry was posted in Comedy, culture, Facebook, friendship, Funny, humor, Life, Personal, pop culture, random, Relationships, Rihanna, television, thoughts, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

23 Responses to Sonya’s Favorite Things – Part 2

  1. Donavan says:

    OK, your blog is everywhere. By the way, that is a good thing. I like your “Random Foolishness” approach to storytelling. How can you not have a girl crush on Gabriel Union or Jennifer Connelly?

    Like

  2. Thanks for reading my blog, Donavan! I’m glad you’ve seen it other places…that means I might finally be penetrating the blogoshpere!

    BTW, I did consider putting Gabrielle Union in the “Dimples” section because hers are adorable, too 😉

    Like

  3. RP14 says:

    I had to come to the realization that I have a girl crush on Ciara!!

    One of my favorite things is a good looking man, and that can come in so many forms that my next favorite thing is the features that makes someone attractive!!

    Like

  4. Dear Ms. Sonya,
    Mother Hen says thank you for supporting the Nest!
    Eggstremely appreciatively yours,
    Mother Hen

    Like

  5. Sugarmama says:

    A quick list of favorite things (PART 1):

    1) my 2002 Merceds Benz C320 – because it fits neatly into any parking space and it was SIGNIFICANTLY smaller than the yacht I now drive. I want it back desperately.
    2) cheaper gas – because I can’t afford to spend $100 for yacht I drive everyday.
    3) parents who disciple their children – because I love well-behaved children.
    4) key lime cake – because its amazing.
    5) a clean house -because it makes me feel good.
    6) sleppytime tea – because its knock me out.
    7) sweet riesling wine – because it takes the edge off.
    8) bubble bath – because it relaxes me
    9) frebreeze – because it smells good
    10) my husband – because he smells good, he relaxes me, he takes the edge off, he makes me feel good, he knocks my light out, and he’s altogether amazing!!!!!!!

    Like

  6. Najeema says:

    Thanks for including my blog in your Favorite things post! I love the way your blog is taking off. Good job! Keep up the good work.

    Like

  7. AQuinn says:

    I am not a TV person but there is nothing like a great commercial. I like the one about Anti Aging cream http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zC0g8t66rUM The way you feel about gum and pens is how i feel about belching and burping. Once, I stopped talking to my best friend for a week because she let out a burp so close to me, i thought i ate the meal! As I grow older I have developed the silent but deadly kind of burps.

    Like

  8. One commercial series that I just love right now, despite not liking the company, is the Walmart commercials that show items on the conveyer and how they are used. I laugh every time.
    Another love is Drive-in Movie Theaters. The season is here and I am looking forward to our first trip.

    Like

  9. indyink says:

    Hmmm. Roller coasters, cold organic navel oranges, Saigon Cinnamon, Bradley Cooper, Zumba, funny blogs, outdoor festivals, sweaty swing dancing with a cute guy. Great post. 🙂

    Like

    • Ya know, Bradley Cooper almost made my list because I thought he had dimples….upon further examination, I learned that he doesn’t, lol!

      The “sweaty swing dancing with a cute guy” brings back college memories. Only I don’t remember the guys being that cute!

      Like

  10. Sumer says:

    We both love Matthew! Well, I don’t love him, per se, I just think he’s sexy. I do LOVE Brad Pitt and will commit Jungle Fever with him. #letgoletflow

    Like

  11. Pingback: July came in with a bang! | Magnet for Foolishness

  12. Pingback: Sonya’s LEAST Favorite Things | Magnet for Foolishness

  13. Pingback: Happy Birthablogiversary! | Magnet for Foolishness™

  14. Pingback: Turn-ons, must-haves(?), and dealmakers for the future Mr. Magnet |

  15. Off The Cuff says:

    I’m with ya on the girl crushes only Rhianna would be more towards the top, I’ve got a thing for Bajans.
    Skittles commercials are funny, especially the skittle tree kid, it kills me. I’m the comma King, my wife, who is a grammar Queen, says it all the time,,,,,,,,,,,,,,.
    Here are a few of my things, The Lord, Curry goat roti, Black forest cake, Elvis, The original Hummer truck, The smell of cut grass, Animals, People watching, Comedy, Vacations.
    All the best
    Sean
    Skittles http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZlZkgdF2_2k

    Like

    • I like most of the Skittles commercials, but that one in particular is kinda creepy to me, lol. As far as some of your other favorites, I, too, love comedy, vacations, people watching, and The Lord. Not necessarily in that order 😉

      Like

      • Off The Cuff says:

        Your right about the skittles, maybe that’s why I don’t eat then any more.
        Do you remember the Wendy’s commercial with the slap, and phrase you got yourself a sandwich Sir?
        That’s another one of my favorites. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-pWQsYPw-Bg
        My eight year old daughter slapped a boy at school during lunch after she watched the commercial, there was a call from the office. It all worked out but it was a little embarrassing.

        Like

  16. Ha! I vaguely remember that commercial. As for the situation with your daughter, as a parent, I don’t know how I would have reacted to that! Knowing that she based “the slap” on the commercial, I probably would have laughed. Very heartily at first. Then later I would have turned into a disciplinarian. I know that is terrible…hopefully before I become a parent, I will know better! Because if my kid had been on the receiving end of the slap, it would be no laughing matter!

    Like

  17. Pingback: What a Wonderful Whole New World | Magnet for Foolishness™

I want to hear from you!

