I am practicing abstinence.

Or going on a Facebook fast. However you wanna look at it. In the past week, I’ve had several friends to deactivate their accounts cold turkey. I’m not strong enough to do that yet, but I’ve significantly cut back on my Facebook activity lately. In fact, I haven’t updated my status in over a week. But there’s something exhilarating about the ability to share your thoughts (however random they might be) the SECOND they occur. I’ve always said that Facebook is a gift and a curse. I’m sure many of you can back me up on this.

So, I’m trying to convince myself that my week off was an extraordinary act of discipline and not an exercise in futility. But just because I didn’t share my random thoughts, doesn’t mean I didn’t still have them…and document them…so I could share them later…

Friday, March 11, 2011

Thank goodness for the ability to text someone sitting right next to you in awkward situations! Some things just can’t wait until later!! And thank goodness for emoticons!!  Secret telling smile

Saturday, March 12, 2011 

Chick-fil-A has announced that they are now offering a banana pudding milkshake. I’m not sure if I’m grossed out Sick smile or excited Open-mouth smile

Is it weird when a grown man names his car? And by is it, I mean it is.  Auto

Just in case you were wondering, when you wash your hands and then dry them on your shirt, YOUR HANDS ARE DIRTY ALL OVER AGAIN!! Sarcastic smile

Hiccups are not nearly as fun when you’re an adult. They’re actually kind of scary. Because each one feels like a mini-heart attack. Broken heart

Sunday, March 13, 2011

What a beautiful day for a picnic! Sun  Rainbow  Plate

Taken with my BlackBerry 3/13/11

Came across this (see picture to the right) as I was shopping for food for the picnic…Silly me! All my life, I thought the real word was SANDWICH and the play word was SAMMICH!

I hate roundabouts!! I can go through the same one a million times and STILL take the wrong exit out! Barring teeth smile

Monday, March 14, 2011

All my new toys came today! UPS guy just delivered the laptop Computer. Fed Ex guy just delivered the BlackBerryMobile phone. My house smells like….technology…

Paula Deen just said she “waked up the whole neighborhood” with the good-smelling food she’d made. I thought the word was “woke”…?? So I looked “waked” up on dictionary.com…turns out it is a word. Who knew?! I bet she didn’t…Pizza  (I thought this was a slice of pie…turns out its a slice of pizza. whatever.)

Tuesday, March 15, 2011

I woke up at 5am IN A PANIC  Surprised smile because I haven’t finished by taxes yet!! Then I remembered it was March 15th…not April 15th. So I read a couple of blogs. Then went back to sleep.  Smile with tongue (This just in…in case you didn’t already know, this year the tax return due date was extended three days to April 18th. See why-tax-day-wont-be-april-15-in-2011/)

After scrambling a couple of months ago to sell someone my Delta SkyMiles (i.e. frequent flyer miles) because they were about to expire before I could use them, Delta has NOW announced that they are removing expiration dates on their travelers’ SkyMiles. Ain’t that just like a Delta?! Winking smile Come to think of it, I sold those miles to a Delta… Airplane

Wednesday, March 16, 2011

One of my hugest pet peeves is when people bring their kids to the bar. And I will leave it at that. Annoyed

I think I may have seen two men today that had on braided leather belts. I didn’t know they still made those… Nerd smile

Thursday, March 17, 2011

Basketball Wives Jennifer says the word “situation” way too much. Soccer (just pretend that this is a basketball…this was as close as I could get…)

Driving while flip-flopped can be dangerous. (Seriously. There is no emoticon for this.)

Friday, March 18, 2011

My parents were married 33 years ago today!  Wow!  Red heart

There is nothing like walking up to your car, noticing a new dent and GOING THE HELL OFF Steaming mad….only to discover shortly thereafter that it wasn’t a dent at all…it was bird poop. Embarrased smile

Saturday, March 19, 2011

I got up at the “butt crack o’ dawn” (my favoritest saying since I was like two) in a stupor to get ready for yoga. I was in such a stupor, that I washed my face. Twice. With lotion. Hope this is not indicative of how the rest of the day will go.  Confused smile

I LOVE LOVE LOVE pecans! Thumbs up But interestingly, I don’t like pecan-encrusted stuff (e.g. trout, catfish, etc.)  Thumbs down

Sunday, March 20, 2011

The church bulletin is advertising another church’s “Annual Winter Youth Retreat”. The retreat is March 26th. Should I tell them that they might want to suggest changing the name to “Annual Spring Youth Retreat”? Or should I leave that alone? Also, the registration deadline for the retreat is listed as Sunday, March 19th. Should I tell them that the 19th was Saturday…and Sunday (today) is the 20th? Or should I leave that alone, too?  Hmmm… Thinking smile

There is only one word to describe someone who takes Bikram Yoga, as a beginner, two days in a row, voluntarily, on purpose, in a jam-packed studio, with somebody else’s toe in my eye, and my elbow in somebody else’s (a different somebody else’s) armpit: FOOLISH!  Crying face (You can translate this as both sweat and tears. But mostly tears.)

Foolish readers, has anything proven to be a gift AND a curse for you?

P.S. Here are a bunch of other cute emoticons for your enjoyment. Rolling on the floor laughing   Party smile   Star   Clock   Sad smile    Disappointed smile    Don't tell anyone smile    Just kidding    Be right back

About Magnet for Foolishness

Resident of the DMV…and my incessant thoughts. Always hungry. Comedy craver. Ice cream freak. Reality TV show junkie. Slightly opinionated. Rarely wrong. Part Lisa Simpson. Part Sue Sylvester. Part Meredith Grey. Renowned chef and baker…avid gardener…pet lover…sometimes liar. Effortlessly forgetful. Always hungry. Blindly hopeful. Easily embarrassed (NOT). Eerily observant. Searching for something. Disregarding parallelism. Chronically tardy. Ruthlessly impatient. Surprisingly affectionate. Unnecessarily long-winded.
This entry was posted in basketball wives, Comedy, culture, Facebook, Funny, humor, Life, paula deen, Personal, pop culture, random, reality TV, television, thoughts, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to I am practicing abstinence.

  1. Facebook’s loss, our gain!
    Mother Hen

    Like

  2. Torri Fuller says:

    I am now a fan. Keep the foolishness a-coming! 🙂

    Like

  3. crustabakes says:

    LOl, your random thoughts are hilarious! i love the part on the bikram yoga. good luck on the abstinence!

    Like

  4. i gave up this weekend for a holiday but im back with a vengence, i hate it though! great read

    Like

  5. Ha! Solid stuff here… see, we don’t need labels, all we need is Facebook… or any other medium to vent.

    “Paula Deen just said she “waked up the whole neighborhood” with the good-smelling food she’d made. I thought the word was “woke”…?? So I looked “waked” up on dictionary.com…turns out it is a word. Who knew?! I bet she didn’t…” <— My favorite LOL

    Like

  6. Ciiku says:

    “I think I may have seen two men today that had on braided leather belts. I didn’t know they still made those”

    Actually according to the latest GQ, braided belts are back in fashion….LOL…

    Like

  7. Pingback: Happy Birthablogiversary! | Magnet for Foolishness™

  8. Pingback: I’m feeling rather “Aubrey” these days. | Magnet for Foolishness®

I want to hear from you!

