A Week of Disappointments: From Home-wrecking “Wives” to Failed Threesomes

This week in pop culture kept EVERYONE entertained/disgusted/confused/ hurt/angry/confused. And yes, I realize I listed confused twice. I, and I think most people, are still trying to figure out this whole Charlie Sheen thing.

In addition to my healthy diet of reality TV, I also watch a little bit (and by little bit, I mean a whole lot) of other kinds of TV. I also breeze by (and by breeze by, I mean regularly tune in with a big bowl of cereal) the entertainment news shows. And of course, there is reading the blogs, people’s facebook statuses, and links to every news article or gossip website sent to me. Watching so much drama unfold this past week has led me to list and categorize my disappointments:

Basketball Wives – Evelyn Lozada. Can’t say she was my favorite of the basketball wives, but I didn’t hate her. I know the shows are edited, but if the conversation with Tami during the finale went down anything like how they portrayed it, Evelyn was foul. Very disappointing. And I won’t even mention her trip to visit Ochocinco. That’s a post for a whole nother day. I will call this one “What goes around, comes around….and around….and around” disappointed.

Real Housewives of Atlanta/Celebrity Apprentice – NeNe Leakes. She went from being my favorite housewife, to being my least favorite, all in one season. She has better one-liners than any of them, but there is a fine line between being funny and being a border-line hater. And she really walked along that line this season and especially during the reunion shows. One thing about reality TV is that the cameras are ALWAYS rolling. So the unedited truth can always be revealed. I hope she remembered this during her taping of Celebrity Apprentice. Though somehow, I doubt it. This one can be categorized as “Cuz who wouldn’t want to breathe?” disappointed.

Celebrity Apprentice/Ex-Survivor – Richard Hatch. He didn’t get fired, likely because he will bring lots of drama (which translates into ratings) to the show this season. Way more than poor David Cassidy would have. Let’s call this one “The tribe hasn’t spoken yet, but just wait…. it’s coming” disappointed.

And while I’m thinking about it, why are Richard Hatch and NeNe Leakes playing for charity? Between the two of them, haven’t they recently dabbled in bankruptcy, incarceration, and foreclosure? I could be wrong. But that’s what I heard on TV. 😉

And also while we’re talking about Celebrity Apprentice, did the line “Jose Canseco just snitchin’ because he finished…” from Rick Ross’s “Hustlin‘ ” come to mind at any point during the board room scene?

Kourtney and Kim Take New York – Kim Kardashian. She drops a single which one youtube commenter accurately describes as sounding like it comes from a “robotic chipmunk on crack”. This was brought to you by “The Dream”. The man who had the audacity to re-make Aaliyah’s classic (yes, I said CLASSIC) “One In A Million”. He didn’t sound that much unlike a robotic chipmunk himself. But anyway, that is also a post for a whole nother day. Back to Kim K, we’ll call this one “I can’t even find the words to describe how disappointed I am” disappointed.

This past weekend, against my better judgment, I opted to see Hall Pass (Owen Wilson) instead of Just Go With It (Adam Sandler). Hall Pass was very predictable and fell victim to a classic case of the funniest parts of the movie were the scenes they showed in the commercials. I call this one “Hall Pass is no Wedding Crashers ” disappointed.

What is going on with Lindsay Lohan and this high-end kleptomania? (I won’t mention all her other illnesses/vices/moral shortcomings/etc. etc. right now). Can’t they put her in a REAL jail? Where she gets some REAL help on the side? But first and foremost, put her in a REAL jail? You know, one where they would put regular people like you and me if we stole somebody’s necklace? I am “mad that this chick keeps getting chance after chance after CHANCE” disappointed.

Last week’s episode of “The Game” had Melanie voluntarily arranging a threesome for she and Derwin. Correct me if I’m wrong, but shouldn’t you NOT bring another woman into your bedroom ON PURPOSE if you’re married? This whole storyline was suspect from the jump (like when all the women at the Sunbeam meeting[?], married and otherwise, heartily endorsed the idea…). We’ll call this “What the what?!?” disappointed.

Did you have any pop culture (or other) disappointments this week? Thoughts on my disappointments?

About Magnet for Foolishness

Resident of the DMV…and my incessant thoughts. Always hungry. Comedy craver. Ice cream freak. Reality TV show junkie. Slightly opinionated. Rarely wrong. Part Lisa Simpson. Part Sue Sylvester. Part Meredith Grey. Renowned chef and baker…avid gardener…pet lover…sometimes liar. Effortlessly forgetful. Always hungry. Blindly hopeful. Easily embarrassed (NOT). Eerily observant. Searching for something. Disregarding parallelism. Chronically tardy. Ruthlessly impatient. Surprisingly affectionate. Unnecessarily long-winded.
This entry was posted in basketball wives, Celebrity Apprentice, Charlie Sheen, Comedy, culture, Facebook, Funny, humor, kardashian, Life, Lindsay Lohan, movies, music, pop culture, random, reality TV, Survivor, television, thoughts, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A Week of Disappointments: From Home-wrecking “Wives” to Failed Threesomes

  1. Cardell says:

    I do not follow reality TV often, but your post still made me LMAO. However, I so agree with your thoughts on Lindsay Lohan. I used to be a BIG LiLo fan… Forget second chances, this chick has had nine chances and still can’t get her act together. And we all know that if one of US had stole that necklace, folks would have been advocating for the death penalty. So I agree, put this chick in a REAL jail!

    Like

  2. Sumer says:

    I’m with you on the “what-the-what” disappointment. How are you going to take advice from the team whore/now house wife is beyond me. That episode was an epic fail.

    Like

I want to hear from you!

