To Mexico and back, in one(?) piece. – Part 3

Desperate times call for desperate measures.

Desperate times call for desperate measures.

Hoping for an uneventful remainder to my evening, I called the concierge and asked him to bring me a new key as fast as he could. It was hard to determine if it was better to stay in the room with the smoking strangers or stand outside with the frogs. I thanked the ladies and decided it was best to go outside to wait. You remember the song “Freaks Come Out at Night”, right? Well in Mexico, the FROGS come out at night! I mean, Kermit and ALL his homies were out in full effect EVERY night…like, EVERYWHERE. While waiting for the concierge and observing all the frogs on the steps and walls, I contemplated pulling the fire alarm. The purpose of this was two-fold: I could make the concierge get there faster if he thought my room was on fire, and I could scare all the frogs away. Then, not too far from the fire alarm, I spotted a fire extinguisher. Even better! I could use that to spray all the frogs away! Before I could act on either of those ideas, the concierge arrived with my new key. I retrieved it from him, said a quick prayer, closed my eyes, and RAN through the plague of frogs. I made it safely into my room without further incident.

Didn't have good pics of frogs on my phone, but had plenty of pics of iguanas the size of a triceratops.

Didn’t have good pics of frogs on my phone, but had plenty of pics of iguanas the size of a Triceratops.

Until the next day. While getting ready for dinner that evening, I plugged the curling iron in and waited a few minutes for it to get hot. It never did. I immediately thought, “There must be something wrong with this outlet, because there is certainly nothing wrong with my curling iron!” I unplugged the curling iron to try a different outlet and there was a huge spark and a thick puff of smoke! The bathroom went dark and so did the rest of the room. The TV and everything else in the room shut off. Hoping that I had not short circuited my room, I called the front desk to see if electricity all over the resort had been knocked out due to the hurricane. “No, we have electricity,” they told me. “I guess it’s just your room.” “Well, can you send someone to check things out and restore the power as soon as possible? I can’t do anything in the dark.” “Sure. We’ll be there in five minutes.” Fifteen minutes passed and there was no sign of anyone. I called back and asked for a status update. They reassured me that someone was on their way. I waited five more minutes and, with a useless curling iron, I put my hair in a ponytail (see #7 here for why that is such a big deal) and prepared to head out for dinner. About that time, there was a knock on my door. Maid service brought me two towels. Great. I got somebody’s towels and I guess they got my electricity.

Despite all the drama, I actually had a good time in Mexico. Once I landed back in the states, I strolled through Customs and Border Protection and headed towards the exit. BOY was I glad to be (almost) home! So glad, in fact, that I handed the fella my forms and pranced right on out the gates. One of the airport employees asked, “Ma’am, do you have all your belongings?” I said, “Well yeah. Everything except the luggage that I checked.” She said, “Okay…so….are you gonna pick up your luggage or….?” “Um. Yes. Yes, I am.” I did not realize that I had long since passed the point where international travelers were to pick up their luggage. I went back to the guy I’d given my forms to and told him I forgot my bag. As a matter of national security, I thought I’d really f’ed up! He looked me up and down, shook his head, and waved me back through. I went and picked up my sad little three-wheeled suitcase from the conveyor belt. Another woman claiming her bag was like, “Dang! They to’ yo’ bag UP, didn’t they?” “Yes, ma’am,” I said. “Yes, they did.”

Anyway, I got home and thanked my lucky stars that even though my luggage died (and I almost didn’t get to claim it!) at least I didn’t get hurricaned to death, drowned by Jacuzzi flooding, warted by frogs, or electrocuted by a curling iron. I pulled out my passport to put it away…and it was covered in glitter. I mean COVERED. So that leads me to believe that maybe there were some parts of this Mexico trip that I don’t remember. Or maybe I remember and just don’t wanna tell you! ;)

About Magnet for Foolishness

Resident of the DMV…and my incessant thoughts. Always hungry. Comedy craver. Ice cream freak. Reality TV show junkie. Slightly opinionated. Rarely wrong. Part Lisa Simpson. Part Sue Sylvester. Part Meredith Grey. Renowned chef and baker…avid gardener…pet lover…sometimes liar. Effortlessly forgetful. Always hungry. Blindly hopeful. Easily embarrassed (NOT). Eerily observant. Searching for something. Disregarding parallelism. Chronically tardy. Ruthlessly impatient. Surprisingly affectionate. Unnecessarily long-winded.
This entry was posted in Comedy, Funny, humor, Life, Personal, random, stories, thoughts, travel, traveling, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to To Mexico and back, in one(?) piece. – Part 3

  1. rp1496 says:

    So I’m sure we’ll get a post about the great parts of your trip…or Nah

    Like

    • Three parts is enough! The other parts of the trip (taking a dip in the swimming hole in a cave, visiting the Mayan ruins, going sombrero shopping in “downtown” Cancun, etc.) didn’t constitute “foolishness”…so why would you wanna hear about that? LOL!

      Like

  2. hermitsdoor says:

    You didn’t share your passport with the slippy ladies did you?
    Oscar

    Like

I want to hear from you!

